Wakoya Sushi (Osborne Village)

mms_img-709168141

I always thought the idea of sushi was repulsive. I grew up on the east coast and ate a lot of seafood, always cooked.  I tried sushi for the first time when I was 19 and living in Winnipeg. I wasn’t a huge fan. A lot has changed in 2 years. The people I spend most of my time around love sushi, so I have come to love it too. 

The first thing I seem to order when I go to a sushi place is assorted tempura. I ABSOLUTELY love it. My favourite is always the shrimp and the yam. When I ordered it at Wakoya Sushi it came to the table in such a timely fashion, I didn’t have time to be hungry. And it definitely didn’t disappoint. It was the perfect amount of crispiness with a great assortment of veggies and shrimp.

mms_img1474840348
Assorted tempura (yam and shrimp shown above)

I decided to try one of the regular rolls on the menu called “Beach”. It contains crab meat, tempura crumbs, fish eggs, mayo and hot sauce. I often choose sushi with crab, as crab is my favourite seafood. I was a little nervous about trying the fish eggs as it seems like everyone is always grossed out by them but I found them to be pretty much tasteless. The roll itself though was delicious. The hot sauce and mayo complimented the perfectly portioned crabmeat and tempura mixture. Next time I go I will probably ask for more hot sauce as I like it a little more spicy then they offered (I do not like wasabi).

mms_img-1442267306
“Beach” roll (crab meat, tempura crumbs, fish eggs, mayo, and hot sauce)

The restaurant itself is very mellow. It is located right on Osborne so if you love people watching (like I do), Wakoya Shushi is a great place to have a relaxing meal and do just that. Their dinnerware was beautifully crafted, and added to the overall atmosphere of the restaurant. They also have lots of lucky cats on display through-out, which is another favourite of mine when visiting sushi restaurants. I highly recommend that anyone new to sushi and willing to give it a try, make this place your first. And if you are a sushi lover already, which I am slowly turning into, then Wakoya should definitely be added as a consistent go-to when you’re in the area. Check them out and let us know what you think!  

Leave a Reply

