Homemade Waffles

Wow. It’s been over a month since our last post. Things got crazy busy and it was hard to post as much as we would have liked. Wish me better luck this time. I’m going to start with a super simple yet super delicious recipe to get back in the swing of things. Homemade waffles!

First things first, in order to make waffles you need a waffle maker. That being said, most waffle recipes can be adapted and used as a pancake recipe instead and then you can just use a frying pan. I haven’t tried my waffle recipe as a pancake recipe yet but if you do, please let me know how it turns out. The waffle maker that I use is a Salton Belgium Waffle Maker, Model WM1075. It makes two waffles at a time. I got it as a birthday gift from Pascal last year and I love it.

mms_img646554252
My Salton Belguim Waffle Maker, Model WM1075

I choose a basic recipe, one that I already had all the ingredients for at home and you probably do too. The fun part about making waffles isn’t necessarily about what you put IN them as much as it is about what you put ON them. For our toppings we decided to use margerine, syrup, cool whip, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and nutella. The possibilities are endless though. Trying new toppings makes it an exciting meal. If you’re making them for your family or friends, try setting up a waffle bar where they can pick and choose which toppings they’d like to try. Next time I make waffles, I’m going to try making a s’mores waffle sandwich, I’ll let you guys know how that goes! Feel free to let me know what your favorite waffle toppings are so I can try those also.

mms_img-684585593
Our toppings of choice; syrup, margarine, nutella, cool whip, raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries.

INGREDIENTS: 

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup of milk
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

mms_img605821639

DIRECTIONS:

1.) In medium bowl, beat eggs until thick then add milk and oil.

2.) Add dry ingredients, mix until smooth.

3.) Use your waffle maker as per instructions included.

4.) Choose your toppings and enjoy!

mms_img311058496
Our waffles before adding toppings….
mms_img1063048612
….and after adding the toppings. Nutella, berries and cool whip, yum!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

